GEISTAZ'IKA - Midnatsb​ø​n ved Dj​æ​velens Port - LP

Stock: 166


21,90€ EUR 21,90€ EUR

Save % on this product!


- 12" vinyl, 33rpm, 180g (black or clear with silver splatter)

- black polylined innersleeve

- 4/0 printed outer 350g carton sleeve with spine (printed on uncoated side) + matt ofset lacquer

- 12-page booklet + printed on uncoated paper

- packing + PE- bag (records in innersleeves, packed outside the cover)

Hailing from Denmark's revitalized (and rising) black metal underground, the shadowy entity known as Geistaz'ika revealed their first public recording, Trolddomsejd i skovens dybe kedel, at the very end of 2018, but only digitally. So impressed by its windswept wonder, Signal Rex eagerly stepped forward to release this debut album unto the worldwide stage less than a year later.

Five years on from that fresh breath of old air, Geistaz'ika return with their second album, Midnatsbøn ved Djævelens Port. Continuing the windswept wonder of its not-inconsiderable predecessor, Midnatsbøn ved Djævelens Port lays bare an even-more-poignant landscape of mysticism and melancholy. Here, Geistaz'ika put pronounced emphasis on delicate acoustics, amplifying their already dynamic sound, still recalling the likes of both the Norwegian Perished and Hades but also early Isvind, Helheim, and Ulver. But to reference such immortal names only underlines the authentically ancient ground upon which Geistaz'ika walk, and they duly back up such bravura with their most windingly epic songwriting yet; two tracks on Midnatsbøn ved Djævelens Port top 10 minutes each, with the closing "Fortabt Moribund" just eking past 20 minutes. Uniquely, the band even incorporate the "singing" saw into their foggy atmospheres, which are already dense with a swirling blanket of choirs. Fittingly, the production across the album carries the aura of classic Nordic black metal circa 1995 - otherworldly to the extreme, but nevertheless the work of actual humans (and actual bass guitar can be heard, too) - with the mastering courtesy of Henri Sorvali and Trollhouse Audio no doubt helping.

Not so much a rejection of the modern "black metal" scene as it simply ignores the last 25 years of such, Geistaz'ika continue creating their own solemn, sensorial world with Midnatsbøn ved Djævelens Port. To celebrate this new album's release, Trolddomsejd i skovens dybe kedel is concurrently being reissued by Signal Rex.


1. Mareredet Hyrdetime [1:40]

2. Bestænkt af Syndens Vievand [13:17]

3. Med Korstegn og Grådkvalt Fadervor [9:01]

4. Asken fra Hendes Brænden [4:27]

5. Fortabt Moribund [20:04]